There are several Birds of Prey in Arizona as some species are inclined to the climate in this region. Raptors, commonly referred to as predatory birds, are hyper-carnivorous species that actively pursue and consume other vertebrate prey. These will often include mammals, reptiles, and other smaller chicks.

These ferocious predators are swift and powerful, with excellent eyesight for spotting prey up close or while in flight. They have strong feet with sharply pointed talons for grabbing prey while their sturdy curved beaks are used for tearing off the flesh. Strigiformes and Falconiformes are the two magnificent orders that make up the group of birds of prey.

These feathered creatures are known for their notorious hunting skills. Birds of prey include vultures, falcons, hawks, and owls that consume small animals for nourishment. Although most species of predatory birds pursue their prey alive, several others, including fish eagles, vultures, and condors, also scavenge and consume carrion.

Identification Of Arizona Birds Of Prey

Although raptors are quite beautiful birds, they are also categorized as dangerous. Each species have similar ancestral backgrounds and descended from great ancient avian predators of vertebrates on land. Based on their evolutionary history and commitment to the raptorial way of life of their predecessors, modern raptors are defined.

Large, predatory bird species have hooked bills, pointed talons, powerful feet, and acute hearing and sight. Small mammals, birds, insects, and reptiles are typically what they eat. However, the shapes and sizes of birds of prey are incredibly diverse so identifying them positively will require a little knowledge.

 are there falcons in arizona

Take The Following Into Consideration When Attempting To Identify These Amazing Birds:

Size – Eagles, vultures, and ospreys are examples of large raptors. However, the size of hawks and falcons is tiny to medium. Their bodies, bills, heads, and wings all serve as helpful identification cues.

Color – When perched or flying, pay attention to the color and pattern of the feathers of the birds of prey in Arizona. Flying raptors can be recognized by their underpart intricate plumage patterns.

Flight pattern – When it comes to the way predatory birds fly, you should pay careful attention to correctly identify them. This is because while vultures tend to glide, eagles have a soaring flight pattern that is quite distinctive.

Behavior – Recognize various behaviors, including social behavior, activity patterns, whether they are active during the day or night (diurnal or nocturnal), and hunting tendencies. For instance, vultures are more likely than eagles to be found in a flock of raptors near a corpse. Night hawks on the other hand have an exceptional vision that helps them hunt in the darkness.

Habitat – Discover the species that live in your area, their migration routes, and the habitat types that they like. When trying to identify a raptor, this will assist you in excluding certain species from the lot. This is because while some prefer to stay hidden, others may not.

 arizona hawk species

Are There Falcons in Arizona

Yes, there are falcons, commonly known as birds of prey in Arizona which include five different species. This beautiful state is situated just north of Mexico and is also directly on the migratory path of numerous different bird species. Therefore, it makes sense that it is home to a variety of falcon species.

As members of the Falconidae family of raptors, these birds vary from eagles, kites, and hawks in a number of ways. Falcons kill their food with their beaks rather than their talons, in contrast to other raptors.

Listed below are a few types of falcons in Arizona:

– The American Kestrel
– The Peregrine Falcon
– The Prairie Falcon
– The Crested Caracara
– The Merlin

Arizona is home to these five spectacular birds of prey mentioned in the above list. If you’re a bird lover, make sure to keep an eye out for these majestic creatures the next time you visit the state.

 birds of prey in arizona

Arizona Hawk Species

Although eagles and hawks might be mistaken for one another, the former is bigger with proportionately longer wings and larger bills. Hawks found in Arizona are medium-sized raptors while eagles are a bit larger. However, these birds of prey are both diurnal, meaning that they are in operation during the day.

Buteo is the genus that most hawks in North America belong to, whereas the species are known as buzzards elsewhere. Aside from the uncommon vagrant, there are twelve different species of hawks in Arizona that you are likely to see.

These beautiful birds from Arizona are known as:

1. The Red-tailed Hawk
2. The Cooper’s Hawk
3. The Sharp-shinned Hawk
4. The Northern Goshawk
5. The Broad-winged Hawk
6. The Common Black Hawk
7. The Rough-Legged Hawk
8. The Gray Hawk
9. The Harris’s Hawk
10. The Zone-tailed Hawk
11. The Ferruginous Hawk
12. Swainson’s Hawk

Although small, hawks are exceptional hunters and masters of the sky. They surely have earned their place in the ranks of predatory birds. Here’s a great video on the raptor migration study. 

List of Nocturnal and Diurnal Birds of Prey

Arizona has a varied range of bird life. The majority of bird species are regarded as diurnal, which means that they are awake during the day but asleep at night. However, there are also nocturnal birds, which hunt and fly at night and rest during the day. 

Listed below are some of the nocturnal beasts Arizona has to offer:

The Whiskered Screech-Owl
The Buff Collared Nightjar
The Mexican Whip Poor Will
The Lesser Nighthawk
The Barn Owl
The Great Horned Owl

Keep in mind that birds that are active during the day make up seventy percent of the population, and the other thirty percent are classified as nocturnal. They can be found all over the world and come in a variety of sizes, shapes, and dispositions.

Let’s look at some of the day hunters that Arizona has to offer:

 hawks found in arizona

The California Condor
The Turkey Vulture
The Black Vulture
The White-Tailed Kite
The Osprey
The Coopers Hawk
The Golden Eagle
The Sharp Shinned Hawk
The Bald Eagle
The Common Black Eagle
The Nothern Harrier
The Crested Caracara


Each year, thousands of birdwatchers visit Arizona in search of uncommon or fascinating species. It is often seen that for those who observe the skies, even one sighting of a raptor is a treat in itself. As you have read above, the Grand Canyon state has the most impressive collection of raptors in North America, including vultures, condors, kites, owls, hawks, eagles, and falcons.

 identification arizona birds of prey

Nearly every raptor species found on the American continent make up the birds of prey in Arizona. Along with well-established populations of certain species that are native to Mexico, including the gray hawk, zone-tailed hawk, and whiskered screech-owl, this state never disappoints.

This is because the ecological diversity of Arizona’s raptors is unmatched, ranging from saguaro cactus woodlands, where small elf owls nest, to the Vermilion Cliffs, where the enormous California condor can be found. However, many species depend on habitats that are now in danger due to deterioration or development.

Therefore, having knowledge of and respect for raptors is essential for their survival. Here’s more information about these magnificent birds from the Hawk and Owl Trust

Similar Posts